Healthwatch Lancashire’s Handy Guide To Acronyms

Healthwatch Lancashire aims to provide information to members of the public, which makes sense to all and does not cause confusion. There are many abbreviations used within health and social care that many people do not understand. Please see our handy guide below which aims to explain common acronyms, which are often used:

CQC – Care Quality Commission.

CCGClinical Commissioning Group.

LCCLancashire County Council.

NWASNorth West Ambulance Service.

LTHTLancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust.

UHMBTUniversity Hospitals of Morecambe Bay Trust.

ELHTEast Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust.

PLACEPatient Led Assessment of the Care Environment.

PALSPatient advice and liaison services.

HWLHealthwatch Lancashire.

HWEHealthwatch England.

PPG – Patient Participation Group.

NWCASHSNNorth West Coast Academic Health Science Network.

JSNAJoint Strategic Needs Assessment.

NICENational Institute for Health and Care Excellence.

E & VEnter and View.

CSUCommissioning Support Unit.

NHSNational Health Service.

AED – Automated external defibrillator.

A & EAccident and Emergency.

MIUMinor injuries unit.

VCFS – Voluntary Community and Faith Sector.

DBSDisclosure Barring Service.

RLIRoyal Lancaster Infirmary.

LGBT – Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender.

E & D – Equality and Diversity.

ENT – Ear Nose and Throat.

MAU – Medical Assessment Unit.

PPG – Patient Participation Group.

PHSOParliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman.

LGOThe Local Government Ombudsman.

CAMHS – Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services.

HAC – Health and Care.

OPDOut Patients Department.

BCFBetter Care Fund.

BME – Black Minority Ethnic.  

CHC – Community Health Council. 

DoH – Department of Health. 

FT – Foundation Trust.

FYFV (also 5YFV) – Five Year Forward View. 

GOCGeneral Optical Council.

HA – Health Authority.